SSA Adds Five New Compassionate Allowance Conditions

Empire Justice Center October 30, 2020

The Social Security Administration (SSA) has added five new conditions to the list of compassionate allowances (CAL) conditions, bringing the total number of CAL conditions to 242. The five new CAL conditions are:


  • Desmoplastic Small Round Cell Tumors (POMS DI 23022.146);
  • GM1 Gangliosidosis – Infantile and Juvenile Forms (POMS DI 23022.186);
  • Nicolaides-Baraister Syndrome (POMS DI 23022.236);
  • Rubinstein-Tybai Syndrome (POMS DI 23022.287); and
  • Secondary Adenocarcinoma of the Brain (POMS DI 23022.298).


The complete list of CAL conditions is available at POMS DI 23022.080 and at https://www.ssa.gov/compassionateallowances/conditions.htm.


SSA uses CAL conditions to quickly identify diseases and other medical conditions that, by definition, meet Social Security’s standards for disability benefits.  The CAL initiative helps SSA reduce waiting times to reach a disability determination for individuals with the most serious disabilities.  The Compassionate Allowances program identifies claims where the applicant’s disease or condition clearly meets Social Security’s statutory standard for disability.  SSA uses the same rules to evaluate CAL conditions when evaluating both Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) programs.